Your safety matters
Use safe leave to care for yourself or your children.
Let your employer know that you need to miss work due to Paid Leave Oregon reasons. You do not need to give any other reason, but your employer may require you to let them know you are taking safe leave. You need to follow the instructions for how to give notice.
If your employer has an equivalent plan instead of participating in the state’s Paid Leave Oregon plan, you must apply separately under the equivalent plan. Ask your employer for instructions on how to do that.
To apply for benefits under the state plan, follow these steps.
Step 1: Have your documents ready
You’ll need at least 1 of the following:
- A copy of a police report
- A formal complaint to a school’s Title IX coordinator
- A copy of a protective order
- Other evidence from a court, administrative agency, school’s Title IX coordinator, or attorney
- Other documents from an attorney, law enforcement officer, health care provider, licensed mental health professional or counselor, member of the clergy, or victim services provider
If you have difficulty getting one of the documents listed above or have concerns about safety, you can confirm that you qualify for safe leave. You can do this in Frances Online or use the Paid Leave Oregon Verification of Safe Leave Form.
- 30-day notice: If you know you will need to use Paid Leave for you or your child, you need to let your employer know at least 30 calendar days before taking leave, unless giving advance notice is not possible for you.
- 24-hour emergency notice: In an emergency, you must tell your employer (this does not have to be in writing) that you need to use Paid Leave within 24 hours. Then, give written notice to your employer within 3 days after starting leave.
Step 3: Apply for benefits
When you are ready to apply for benefits, you will use Frances Online. Employees can begin creating an account on Frances Online in August 2023.
Frances Online is the quickest and easiest way to apply for Paid Leave. You can answer questions from Paid Leave and check the status of your application or payments. If you can’t access Frances Online, send us a paper application or call us at 833-854-0166. It may take longer for you to receive a response.
At the earliest, you can submit your application 30 days before you start your leave. At the latest, you can submit it 30 days after you start your leave.
Step 4: Update your leave claim
After Paid Leave has approved your application, you can update your leave claim any time the leave time frame or leave schedule changes. Learn more about how to update your application.
Have questions? Visit our commonly asked questions about Frances Online.
Create an account:
If you are a survivor of sexual assault, domestic violence, harassment, or stalking and need support from a community-based service provider, visit the Oregon Coalition Against Domestic and Sexual Violence’s website to find a resource in your community.
- Paid Leave Oregon pays you every week while you are on Paid Leave. The amount depends on how much you earned the year before. Some employees will get 100% of their wages.
- You can use the benefits calculator for an estimate of how much your weekly benefits may be if you take paid leave.
What happens when I go back to work?
- Your job is protected by law while you’re on paid leave if you have worked at least 90 consecutive days for your employer
- Your employer cannot fire you or threaten you for taking time off if you are eligible for paid leave
- You have the right to the same job you had when you left if you have worked for your employer for at least 90 consecutive days under the law.
- If your position no longer exists when you return from paid leave and your employer has 25 or more employees, they must give you a similar position. If your employer has less than 25 employees and your position is no longer available, they can give you a different position when you return with similar job duties and the same benefits and pay.