Time for care when it matters most

Paid Leave Oregon makes sure you can take paid time off to care for yourself or loved ones during life’s important moments. Find out more about the program, what it means for you and your family, and what you can do to get ready.

 
 

Am I covered?

Most people who work in Oregon are covered by Paid Leave Oregon.

You are automatically covered if:

  • You work for an employer in Oregon, and
  • You earned at least $1,000 the year before you apply for benefits, and
  • You have a life event that qualifies you (learn more about qualifying life events)

*If you work in more than one state, please see the Place of Performance joint letter with Washington.

What kind of work counts?

It counts if you:

  • Work a seasonal job in Oregon, or
  • Full-time job in Oregon, or 
  • Part-time job in Oregon, or
  • Work for one or more employers in Oregon

You are not automatically covered if you are:

  • Self-employed or an independent contractor
  • A Tribal government or you work for a Tribal government
  • A federal employee
  • A participant in a work training program as part of a state or federal assistance program
  • A participant in a work-study program that provides students in secondary or postsecondary educational institutions with employment opportunities for financial assistance or vocational training
  • A railroad employee exempted under the federal Railroad Unemployment Insurance Act
  • A volunteer
You can choose coverage if you’re self-employed, an independent contractor, or a Tribal government employer

Important dates to know

Jan. 1, 2023
Jan. 1, 2023

Employees and large employers both start to contribute to the program.
 

Jan. 1, 2023
Jan. 1, 2023

All employees contribute 60% of the total 1% contribution rate, regardless of the size of your employer.

Sept. 3, 2023
Sept. 3, 2023

Benefits begin.
 

What kinds of leave are covered?

Family leave

Family leave

 Caring for members of your family:

Medical leave

Medical leave

To care for yourself when you have:

Safe leave

Safe leave

For survivors of:

  • Sexual assault 
  • Domestic violence 
  • Harassment 
  • Stalking

Key Terms

Family member

Paid Leave Oregon was created with families of every kind in mind, making sure people can access the time they need with an inclusive definition of “family member.” A family member under Paid Leave Oregon can be any of the following:
  • Your spouse or domestic partner
  • Your child (biological, adopted, stepchild, or foster child), your spouse or domestic partner’s child, or the child’s spouse or domestic partner
  • Your parent (biological, adoptive, stepparent, foster parent, or legal guardian), the parent of your spouse or domestic partner, or your parent’s spouse or domestic partner
  • Your sibling or stepsibling or their spouse or domestic partner
  • Your grandparent or your grandparent’s spouse or domestic partner
  • Your grandchild or your grandchild’s spouse or domestic partner
  • Anyone you are related to by blood 
  • Anyone who is connected to you and has a family relationship

Qualifying life event

A qualifying life event means any of these:

Your Paid Leave Oregon benefits

Time off with pay and job protection

You can take up to 12 weeks paid leave in a 52-week period (starting from the day your leave begins). You can take a week or a single day off at a time based on what your serious health condition needs.

You may be able to take up to 2 additional weeks (up to 14 total weeks) if you are pregnant, have given birth, or have health needs because of childbirth.

Paid Leave Oregon pays you every week while you are on leave. Learn more.

Your job is protected by law while you’re on paid leave if you have worked at least 90 consecutive days for your employer.

Your employer cannot fire you or threaten you for taking time off if you are eligible for paid leave, and they must give you the time off according to the law.

You have the right to the same job you had when you left if you have worked for your employer for at least 90 consecutive days by law. This means you do not lose your job title or role while you’re on paid leave, if the position still exists, even if the position was filled by a temporary replacement employee while you were on leave.

How much do I pay for Paid Leave?

Here’s how it works:

Employers and employees share the cost of Paid Leave Oregon. 

  • The 2023 total contribution rate is 1% (this may change from year to year but will never go higher than 1%). The total contribution rate means the amount the employer and employee combined pay into the program.
  • Employees pay 60% of the total 1% contribution rate. This is no more than 0.6% of your gross wages up to maximum wages of $132,900 (for 2023). This means once your wages reach $132,900 (for 1 employer) in the calendar year, you do not pay contributions on wages above that amount. (This amount may adjust for inflation each year.)
  • Large employers with 25 or more employees pay 40% of the total 1% contribution rate. 
  • Contributions will be taken out of your wages by your employer starting on or after Jan. 1, 2023. You can use the contributions calculator to figure out the approximate amount of your contribution.

Contributions calculator

Getting ready for Paid Leave Oregon 

Here are some things to keep in mind as you get ready:

News bulletin sign-up

Stay up to date with the latest news as we roll out Paid Leave Oregon.

When to give notice to your employer about using Paid Leave:

30-day notice
30-day notice

If you know you will need to use Paid Leave for an upcoming medical procedure, to have a child, to adopt a baby, or for any other qualifying life event, you need to let your employer know in writing at least 30 calendar days before you take leave.

24-hour emergency notice
24-hour emergency notice

In an emergency, you must tell your employer (this does not have to be in writing) that you plan to use Paid Leave within 24 hours. Follow up with a written notice to your employer within 3 days after starting leave.

If you do not give notice to your employer, this may reduce your first weekly benefit payment by up to 25%.

Still have questions?

Common questions
Learn more
News and events
Learn more
Contact us
Learn more