An official website of the State of Oregon
How you know »
(how to identify a Oregon.gov website)
An official website of the State of Oregon »
You are here:
We’ve put together Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) about Paid Leave Oregon from employers and business owners like you. As the program rolls out, we’ll keep this page updated to try to make sure you have all the information you need. Can’t find an answer you’re looking for? Feel free to reach out by sending an email to email@example.com. We’ll get back to you within two business days. Or you can call 833-854-0166.
All Oregon employers must allow employees to take up to 12 weeks of paid leave off in a year. In some pregnancy-related situations, you may be able to take up to two more weeks for a total of 14 weeks. If your business or organization has 25 or more employees, you are required to contribute to Paid Leave Oregon. If you have fewer than 25 employees, you are not required to make payments, but your employees still pay their portion and you still need to collect and submit their payments.
Paid Leave Oregon is a program that we all pay into and benefit from. Payments are shared between employees and employers with 25 or more employees. Employees pay 60% of the contribution rate, while employers with 25 or more employees pay 40%.
Large employers pay 40% of the contribution rate of 1%. Here’s what this could look like: if your business has more than 25 employees and pays $1 million in payroll, this would mean all together, your business pays $10,000 each year into Paid Leave Oregon. $6,000 of it is paid from employees’ earnings. So the amount you would pay is $4,000. You do not need to pay the employee while they are on leave. Paid Leave Oregon takes care of that.
Payroll contributions begin on Jan. 1, 2023.
Any employee who made at least $1,000 in the year before they apply for the benefits may be covered by Paid Leave Oregon. Those who are self-employed, independent contractors and Tribal governments can choose to elect in if they want, but are not automatically covered. You can find out if you are self-employed by looking at how it is defined. You can also find the definition of an independent contractor. Learn more Tribal governments.
There are three different types of leave: Family, Medical and Safe Leave.
If you already offer Paid Family Leave, you may be able to apply to use your own plan. Your plan must offer at least the same benefits as Paid Leave Oregon. You first need to get it approved by the Oregon Employment Department.
Paid Leave Oregon will manage the administration of the program, which includes determining eligibility and making benefit payments when the employee is on leave. Employees apply for Paid Leave directly through the program—not the employer. You will only need to collect and submit employee payments. If your business already uses a payroll company, they can take care of the reporting so you don’t have to.
Paid Leave Oregon is separate from other types of leave. Employees can take Paid Leave at the same time as leave through the Oregon Family Leave Act (OFLA) and the Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA.) Employees cannot get Paid Leave Oregon benefits if they are receiving workers’ compensation or Unemployment Insurance benefits.
You can talk to them about what you know, and together you can look at the Employee FAQ page if they have questions you can't answer. You can also encourage them to call us at 833-854-0166 (toll-free) or email us at firstname.lastname@example.org with any questions they may still have.
Visit the Employee page to learn about the benefits your employees are eligible to receive.
Feel free to reach out with any questions by calling us at 833-854-0166 (toll-free) or emailing us at email@example.com. We’ll get back to you within two business days.
A Small Employer is a business or organization with fewer than 25 employees.
If your business or organization has fewer than 25 employees, you are not required to make the employer payments into Paid Leave Oregon. But your employees still pay their portion and you still need to collect and submit their payments.
Small Employers can use the assistance grant money to cover various wage-related costs, such as hiring temporary workers.
A Small Employer can use the assistance grant money to cover costs like hiring temporary workers and other wage-related costs.
Look at the definition to learn if you classify as self-employed. You can also learn if you qualify as an independent contractor.
If you are self-employed or an independent contractor, you do not have to participate in Paid Leave Oregon. But you can choose to elect in if you want.
If you choose to elect into Paid Leave Oregon, you will pay a percent of your earnings.
Employers should decide if they are going to use the state plan for Paid Leave Oregon benefits, or go with their own equivalent plan. An equivalent plan must:
The paid leave program is funded by a trust fund. Employees and employers contribute to the trust fund through payroll taxes. By November of each year, the Employment Department will set the contribution rate, which may be up to 1% of an employee’s gross wages. Oregon employers will begin contributing to the paid leave trust fund on Jan. 1, 2023. Once the rate is set, large employers will contribute 40%, and all employees (regardless of employer size) will contribute 60% of the total contribution. Small employers, which have fewer than 25 employees, are not required to contribute.
A Tribal government is “a federally recognized sovereign Tribal government whose borders lie within this state or an intertribal organization formed by two or more of those governments.”
Tribal governments are exempt from Paid Leave Oregon. Tribal governments that want to provide Paid Leave benefits to their employees can choose coverage for some or all their businesses.
Tribal governments are not required to participate in Paid Leave Oregon. You can choose to elect in. We would like to engage in consultation with Tribal governments, so please reach out to us at firstname.lastname@example.org.
Didn’t find what you were looking for? Please feel free to reach out to us by calling 833-854-0166 (toll-free) or emailing us at email@example.com. We’ll also keep this FAQ updated with all the latest information, so make sure to check back regularly.
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.
A lock icon ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website.
Only share sensitive information on official, secure websites.
Your browser is out-of-date! It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how