An official website of the State of Oregon
How you know »
(how to identify a Oregon.gov website)
An official website of the State of Oregon »
You are here:
We’ve put together Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) about Paid Leave Oregon from employees and those who are self-employed. As the program rolls out, we’ll keep this page updated to make sure you have all the information you need. Can’t find an answer you’re looking for? Feel free to reach out by emailing us at
firstname.lastname@example.org. We’ll get back to you within 2 business days.
If you are an employee of your business and receive and paycheck that you report on a W2, then you are an employee covered by Paid Leave Oregon. If you receive profits from the business that you report as self- employed income on your taxes, then you are self-employed and can choose to participate in the paid leave program if you want.
Most employees will be covered. Whether you work a seasonal job, part-time, full-time, or more than one job at a time, as long as you make $1,000 in the year before you apply, you are covered.
If you’re both an employee and self-employed you would probably have Paid Leave coverage through your employment. You may also choose to elect self-employed coverage which could increase the total amount you are eligible to receive in Paid Leave.
As an independent contractor, you are not automatically eligible. But you can choose coverage. Find out how to elect in.
There are 3 different types of leave: Medical, Family and Safe Leave. Learn more here.
Paid Leave Oregon is separate from other types of leave. Employees can take Paid Leave at the same time as leave through the Oregon Family Leave Act (OFLA) and the Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA.) Employees cannot get Paid Leave Oregon benefits if they are receiving workers’ compensation or Unemployment Insurance benefits. You can read more about this.
If you are eligible, you can start getting benefits on September 3, 2023.
If you have worked at least 90 days for your employer, your job is protected by law. Your employer cannot fire you or threaten you for taking time off. You also have the right to the same position you had when you left. This means you do not lose your job title or role when you take Paid Leave.
Paid Leave Oregon is a program that both employers and employees pay into and benefit from. Employees pay 60% of the contribution rate (regardless of employer size), while large employers pay 40%.
The cost of the program is figured out each year but will never be more than 60% of 1% of an employee's gross wages. Your payment will be taken out of your paycheck.
Payments will start coming out of your paycheck on January 1, 2023.
Didn’t find what you were looking for? Please feel free to email us at email@example.com. We’ll keep this FAQ updated with all the latest information, so make sure to check back regularly! You can also sign up for our bulletin to get updates sent straight to your inbox.
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.
A lock icon ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website.
Only share sensitive information on official, secure websites.
Your browser is out-of-date! It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how