Take care in the moments that matter
Paid Leave Oregon makes it easy for you to take time off to care for yourself or loved ones when you need it most, like to welcome a child into your family or to care for a sick parent. Find out more about the program, what it means for you, what you can do to get ready and more.
Am I covered?
Most employees working in Oregon are covered by Paid Leave Oregon. Here’s what you need to know.
You are automatically covered if:
- You work in Oregon;
- You earned at least $1,000 the year before you apply for benefits; and
You have a life event that qualifies you (learn more).
This means that if you work a seasonal, full-time, or part-time job in Oregon, or for one or more employers, you may qualify. Many employees will get 100% of their wages replaced. Your benefit amount is based on your average wage in the previous year.
You are not automatically covered – but can choose coverage – if you’re self-employed or an independent contractor.
Learn more about choosing coverage if you’re
self-employed, or an independent contractor.
Important dates to know
Jan. 1, 2023, you will start paying into Paid Leave Oregon. A small amount will come out of your paycheck. On
Sept. 3, 2023, you will be able to apply for benefits if you have a qualifying life event.
As we roll out Paid Leave Oregon, we will post the latest updates here—so keep checking back! You can also sign up for our bulletin
, and we’ll send you the most up-to-date information (also available in Spanish).
Time off with pay
- You can take up to 12 weeks of paid time off in a year.
- If you’re pregnant, have given birth or have health issues related to child-birth, you may be able to take up to two more weeks, for a total of 14 weeks.
- You can take leave for a week or a single day at a time.
- By law, your job is protected while you are on leave if you have worked at least 90 days for your employer.
- By law, your employer cannot fire you or threaten you for taking time off if you are eligible. They must give you time off.
- By law, if you have worked for your employer for at least 90 days, and you take Paid Leave, you have the right to the same job position you had when you left. This means you do not lose your job title or role.
How you get paid
Paid Leave Oregon will make sure your benefits are there when you need to take leave. Here’s how it works:
- Paid Leave Oregon pays you a weekly amount.
- The amount you get paid is based on how much you earn.
Many employees will get 100% of their wages.
Here’s an example:
What kind of leave is covered?
Events that happen in your life or in a family member’s life that keep you from working may mean you qualify for coverage. These can fall into three different categories: Family, Medical and Safe Leave.
- The birth of a child
- Bonding with a child:
- In the first year after birth.
- Through adoption.
- When they’re placed in your home through foster care.
To care for a family member with a serious illness or injury.
- To care for yourself when you have a serious illness or injury.
For survivors of sexual assault, domestic violence, harassment, or stalking.
Who is a “family member?”
A “family member” is any of the following:
- Your spouse or domestic partner.
- Your child or the child’s spouse or domestic partner.
- Your parent or your parent’s spouse or domestic partner.
- Your sibling or step-sibling or their spouse or domestic partner.
- Your grandparent or your grandparent’s spouse or domestic partner.
- Your grandchild or your grandchild’s spouse or domestic partner.
- Anyone you are related to by blood or anyone who lives with or is connected to you like a family member.
How much will it cost?
Paid Leave Oregon is a program that both employers and employees pay into and benefit from.
Paid Leave Oregon used data to forecast that a 1 percent contribution rate would make sure the program would have enough funds to both meet the legal requirement and pay benefits for Oregon workers. Here’s what you need to know:
- The cost of the program is figured out before the year begins but will never be more than 1% of your gross wages.
- You will pay 60% of the contribution rate and your employer will pay 40%.
- Your payment will be taken out of your paycheck.
You can plan ahead
We’re still in process of rolling Paid Leave Oregon out, so you don’t have to do anything right now. It can help to know what to expect, when and how you can stay updated. So here’s what’s coming up:
- Starting Jan. 1, 2023, you will see the first amount taken out of your paycheck.
- Starting Sept. 3, 2023, you will be able to apply for benefits.
for our bulletin so you can stay up to date with the latest news.
Other ways to plan ahead
30-day notice: If you know you will need to take Paid Leave for an upcoming surgery or because you will be adopting a baby, or for any other reason, you need to let your employer know
30 days before taking leave.
24-hour emergency notice: In an emergency, you must tell your employer within
24 hours. And then, give them
written notice within three days of starting leave.
Stay up to date