Paid Leave Oregon Bulletin

June 2023 Bulletin - 06/20/2023

June 20, 2023   

June Spotlight: Employees, your Paid Leave guide is here!

The Paid Leave Oregon Employee Guidebook is now available in 11 languages on our website. Within the guidebook, you should be able to find everything you and your family need to know about Paid Leave Oregon, including:

  • The types of leave you can take
  • How benefits are calculated
  • What documents you need to apply
  • What you can expect after you apply

Top three questions from “Contact Us”  

Visitors to our website use the “Contact Us” button to ask questions about Paid Leave. Here are answers to three common questions.

1. Question: Can I apply for bonding leave if I have given birth, adopted a child, or had a child placed in my home through foster care within the twelve months before Sept. 3, 2023? 

Answer: Yes. New parents can apply for Paid Leave within the first year of the birth of their child, adoption, or foster care placement to bond with the child.

2. Question: When can I apply for Paid Leave?

Answer: You can apply on August 14 using Frances Online. Benefits start September 3. This is the earliest day your paid leave may begin. Our goal is to send benefits out within two weeks of your application being approved and processed.

3. Question: If I am already on unpaid leave from my employer for a serious health condition or safe leave before Sept. 3, 2023, can I still apply for Paid Leave Oregon benefits starting Sept. 3, 2023?

Answer: Yes. You can apply for Paid Leave benefits as early as Aug. 14, 2023. Your qualifying event needs to happen after Sept. 3, 2023, or it has to be ongoing. A qualifying event is the reason you need paid leave. For example, this could be the date your child is born or the date of a surgery.

Contact us

Paid Leave in the News

Weekly Benefit Amounts for 2023-24

We have announced the 2023-24 minimum and maximum weekly benefit amounts for Paid Leave Oregon. We want you to know what to expect. Through June 30, 2024, the minimum weekly benefit amount will be $63.48 and the maximum weekly benefit amount is $1,523.63.

Paid Leave Oregon calculates weekly benefit amounts based on how much the employee earns on average in a week and how much leave they take in a week, so the amount is different for every employee.

By law, the department calculates the minimum and maximum benefit amounts once a year. These calculations are based on Oregon’s State Average Weekly Wage and are effective from July 1 through June 30 of the following year. The State Average Weekly Wage increased from $1,224.82 to $1,269.69. For Paid Leave Oregon, the minimum weekly benefit amount is 5% of the State Average Weekly Wage, and the maximum is 120%.

You can read more about this in our news and events section.

Paid Leave connecting with our community

Tell us your paid leave story

We want to hear your stories about how Paid Leave Oregon will help you and your family. We will use these stories, using your first name only, on social media and marketing materials to show Oregonians what having paid leave will mean for you. Please email us your story at

Paid Leave Oregon is coming to local communities!

Come visit Paid Leave Oregon staff at an event close to you. Look for our table and come say hello. We are excited to meet you and answer your questions. Please check out the news and events page for the full list.

Portland:  Juneteenth Celebration – Saturday, June 17, and Sunday, June 18, 2023

Albany:  Albany Pride Rally and March – Saturday, June 24, 2023

Pendleton: Veteran’s Stand Down Saturday – June 24, 2023

Don’t see an event you can attend, but know of an upcoming event? We are always looking for new opportunities to connect. Request an event using our website today.

Join the Paid Leave Oregon team!

Are you passionate about providing benefits to others and ensuring businesses, small employers, and employees are treated fairly? Consider joining the Paid Leave Oregon team.  Additional Oregon Employment Department job openings are posted in Workday.

Contact Paid Leave Oregon

Form:  Contact Us
Call: 833-854-0166 (toll-free)

Still have questions?

Common questions
Common questions
Learn more
News and events
News and events
Learn more
Contact us
Contact us
Learn more