FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

June 1, 2023

Media Contact: communications@employ.oregon.gov

Employment Department Announces Weekly Benefit Amounts for Unemployment Insurance and Paid Leave Oregon

Salem, Ore. — Today, the Oregon Employment Department announced the 2023-24 minimum and maximum weekly benefit amounts for Unemployment Insurance (UI) and Paid Leave Oregon. Paid Leave Oregon is new and will begin paying benefits in September.

By law, the department calculates the minimum and maximum benefit amounts once a year. These calculations are based on Oregon's State Average Weekly Wage and are effective from July 1 through June 30 of the following year. The State Average Weekly Wage increased from \$1,224.82 to \$1,269.69.

The minimum weekly benefit amount is the lowest amount the program will pay a claimant for each week they claim benefits, and the maximum benefit amount is the most the program will pay, regardless of income.

Program	Minimum weekly benefit amount	Maximum weekly benefit amount
Unemployment Insurance	\$190	\$812*
Paid Leave Oregon	\$63.48	\$1,523.63

2023-24 Unemployment Insurance and Paid Leave Oregon weekly benefit amounts

Unemployment Insurance

Starting July 2, 2023, the minimum weekly benefit amount for new unemployment insurance claims will go from \$183 to \$190 per week, and

the maximum weekly benefit amount will go from \$783 to \$812* per week. This increase only affects claims filed July 2, 2023, or later. People who file new unemployment insurance claims before July 2 will continue to receive the same benefit amount.

This is an increase of approximately 3.8%. The minimum weekly benefit amount is 15% of the State Average Weekly Wage, and the maximum is 64%. During the most recent quarter, 11.5% of recipients received the minimum weekly benefit amount, and 24.5% received the maximum.

For Unemployment Insurance, the weekly benefit amount is usually 1.25% of what a claimant earned during their "base period," which is roughly the first 12 of the 15 months before the date they filed their claim.

Visit <u>unemployment.oregon.gov</u> to use OED's <u>UI benefits calculator</u>.

*This number was incorrectly stated as \$813 in the original news release issued June 1. The correct number is \$812. We apologize for the error.

Paid Leave Oregon

For Paid Leave Oregon, the minimum weekly benefit amount is 5% of the State Average Weekly Wage, and the maximum is 120%. When benefits start in September, the minimum weekly benefit amount will be \$63.48, and the maximum will be \$1,523.63.

Paid Leave Oregon calculates weekly benefit amounts based on how much the employee earns on average in a week and how much leave they take in a week, so the amount is different for every employee. Lower wage earners will generally receive more of their usual wages than higher wage earners.

Paidleave.oregon.gov has fact sheets and guidebooks on its resources page.

###

Need help?

The Oregon Employment Department (OED) is an equal opportunity agency. OED provides free help so you can use our services. Some examples are sign language and spoken-language interpreters, written materials in other languages, large print, audio, and other formats. To get help, please call 503- 947-1444. TTY users call 711. You can also send an email to <u>communications@employ.oregon.gov</u>

¿Necesita ayuda?

El Departamento de Empleo de Oregon (OED) es una agencia de igualdad de oportunidades. El OED proporciona ayuda gratuita para que usted pueda utilizar nuestros servicios. Algunos ejemplos son intérpretes de lengua de señas e idiomas hablados, materiales escritos en otros idiomas, letra grande, audio y otros formatos. Para obtener ayuda, por favor llame al 503-947-1444. Usuarios de TTY pueden llamar al 711. También puede enviar un correo electrónico a <u>communications@employ.oregon.gov</u>